Marathon

A feature film by Alberto Segre and Blandine Jet

90 min - Color - 2020 (in development)

Resume

 

Abdel, 18, a young lonely runner, is spotted and selected for the French Marathon team for the Paris Olympics. He will have the function of "hare", which consists in maintaining the speed of the champions at the start of the race and then withdrawing to give them a chance to bring a medal to France.

But Abdel’s participation is jeopardized by his difficulty in naturalizing French. Although he had always lived in France, raised by his Algerian grandmother, family history linked to the Oran massacre of July 5, 1962 blocked his file.

At the end of a challenging personal and sporting journey, his running talent will allow him to overcome the distortions of history. But for that, Abdel will have to free himself from the established rules. It may be the fate of true champions ...

With the support of the region Bretagne

Marathon

Un long-métrage de Alberto Segre et Blandine Jet

90 min - Couleur - 2020 (en développement)

Résumé

 

Abdel, 18 ans, jeune coureur solitaire, est repéré et sélectionné en équipe de France de Marathon en vue des Jeux Olympiques de Paris. Il aura la fonction de « lièvre », qui consiste à maintenir la vitesse des champions en début de course et à se retirer ensuite pour leur donner une chance de ramener une médaille à la France.

Mais la participation d’Abdel est mise en péril par sa difficulté à se faire naturaliser Français. Bien qu’il ait toujours vécu en France, élevé par sa grand-mère Algérienne, des antécédents familiaux liés au massacre d’Oran du 5 Juillet 1962 bloquent son dossier.

Au terme d’un parcours personnel et sportif éprouvant, son talent de coureur lui permettra de contourner les distorsions de l’Histoire. Mais pour cela, Abdel devra s’affranchir des règles établies. C’est peut-être le destin des vrais champions...

Avec le soutien de la Région Bretagne